Cerca nel blog

martedì 12 marzo 2013


The United States is a federal government where power is divided between three different branches: 

  • Executive Branch ( President Vice-President Cabinet)
  • Legislative Branch (Congress Senate and the House of Representatives) 
  • Judicial Branch (Supreme Court).

This system is called “Checks and Balances” and intends to prevent a branch from becoming too powerful (example: Congress can pass a law, the President can agree with it, however, the Supreme Court can declare the law unconstitutional).

The President Powers
The president is is the head of the executive branch and the Commander and Chief of the Armed Forces.
He is elected every four years and during his term he lives at “The White House”, at 1600, Pennsylvania avenue, in Washington D.C.

The United States Congress is the legislative branch of the federal government. It is bicameral, comprising the House of Representatives and theSenate.
The Senate has 100 senators, two from every state regardless of population, while The House of Representatives has 435 representatives; the number of congressmen from each state depends on the number of people who live in each state

The Vice-President is elected together with President. He takes President’s office if President is unable to finish his term

The Supreme Court
The Supreme Court  is the highest court in the United States. It consists of a chief justice and eight associate justices who are nominated by the President and confirmed by the United States Senate. Once appointed, justices have life tenure unless they resign, retire, or are removed after impeachment

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento